Akos Vereckei

Date of Birth Budapest, 1977. augusztus 26.
Height 188 cm

Weight 88 kg
Club Honved-Westel
Hometown Budapest
Age begun canoeing? 1989
Favourite Training Venue? Szeged

What Made you decide flatwater was the sport you wanted to do?
The club was near our house, it was not a question

Preferred Racing Distance? 500m

Favourite Training Session?
About 2 minutes, the quantity depends on the season

Favourite Training camp Location?
Australia, Gold Coast

Why do you enjoy canoeing so much?
Freedom being in the nature, seeing that I gratify so much people

What is the current situation with Canoe Kayak in Hungary?
Women are on the top, man kayak and canoe is in a really hard situation, but we have chenged our training methods, we are trying to get better for the Olympics.

Do you have any pre race ritual ..which brings you luck?
I Dont believe in this

What makes you different from other paddlers in the fact you have so many world titles?
Maybe you should ask my opponents!

1.36 is the fastest time ever recorded. What specific training do you do for this event?
I didn’t do anything different then before, I was in a really good shape at that time.

What does it feel like when you cross the finish line in Szeged and record this time?
Stupid journalist question J I realized it only when I went back to garage with my boat, I was happy, but nothing special

Has becoming one of the greatest 500m paddlers ever changed your life in anyway?
Of course I love my life, I love that people love me

What does your typical day consist of?
I wake up at 7.30, I have my breakfast, the first traning starts at 9.30. It ends about 12.00, then I go to my favouirate restaurant in Budapest (it is a small pub). Then I have a rest before the training, which begins at 15.00. In the evening I spend my time with my girlfriend.

Do you have any desire to compete over 200m? Not really

What current equipment are you using and how does this benefit your performance?
Last year I used Plastex boat and Baracsa I paddle, I dont know what I will use next year, I will try everything I can. This is the first year I will use a GPS (Garmin Forerunner), I like it very much, Garmin is my sponsor.

Do you have any other interests other than kayak?
Computers, Internet, travelling, books

How well are hungarian athletes funded?
Only the best athletes can have a good life (less then 10 athletes)

What is the selection policy like in Hungary?
Two selections, if the selections have a different winner, there is one more race between the two winners.

How long have you spent on the team?
I won my first gold medal in 1997 in k4, that was my first year in the team.

What is you favourite distance (K1-2-4, 200, 500, 1000)?
K1 500m, K4 1000m

Do you study and if so what are you studying?
University of Sports

How do you feel about your overall performance this year?
I am not satisfied, we were too much behind the Slovakian and K4, about the K1, I was really bad

What do you wish to improve upon for next year?
Training methods

What do you feel is the most important part of your race?
From start to finish line

Talk us through your k1 500 race at gainsville?
I am really frustrated. During the season I did better times on a simple training, then in this race, where neither Baggaley has done a fantastic time. The mistake is in myself, I want to correct it.

Finally.. What damage do you intend to do at the Sydney games in 2004?
At least one more gold medal